• The Chester Lions Club was very grateful and proud to celebrate its 75th anniversary with a dinner on the evening of Thursday, October 27.  The club was chartered on September 18, 1947 and sponsored by the Weirton Lions Club.  The first officers of the club were President, Smith Cottrill; Secretary, Clifton Huff; and Treasurer, Kenneth Kimble.  There were 32 members at the time the club was chartered.  The club met on the second and fourth Thursday of each month, and continues to do so today.  The club has been honored to have two members serve as District Governors: Walter Jordan in 1964-1978, and Sayre Graham in 1977-1978.To kick off the evening, 1st Vice President Marshall Hobbs introduced his daughter Melissa Hobbs, who sang the national anthem.  Member Jimmy Beckman provided the invocation and President Jodie Juszczak provided a heartfelt welcome based on the heritage of the club.  Secretary Steve Wilson, introduced special guests, thanked all of the businesses and organizations who supported the club throughout the years, and recognized the current club members. Special guests at the dinner included 1st Vice District Governor Dan Heintzman from Sistersville, and Past District Governors Gary and Bernice Pitcock, both from Weirton. The club was very pleased to have Mrs. West Virginia, Jami Myers, as the guest speaker who provided a very interesting presentation on the effects and impacts of dementia. After 75 years, the club continues to focus on sight preservation and tries to live up to the Lions Club motto of “We Serve” by helping out the community when and where needed.Current officers of the club are President Jodie Juszczak, Past President Bob Milner, 1st Vice President Marshall Hobbs, 2nd Vice President Lori Ogden, Treasurer Doug Comm, Secretary Steve Wilson, and Tail Twister Tom Hineman.Special thanks to club president, Jodie Juszczak for spearheading the planning for the event.Pictured are the club’s two most senior members, Pete Arner (right) with 32 years of service, and Jimmy Beckman (left) with 30 years of service.