The Hancock County Board of Education celebrated  students’ accomplishments at Monday night’s meeting.  Weir High students Maria Yates and Matthew Jagela were honored for being named to the the West Virginia All State Orchestra.  Yates is 6th Chair Percussionist and Jagela  is 1st Chair Trombone.

       SKILLS USA State Conference Medalists were recognized.   Gold Medalists were  Lydia Mascio (Medical Terminology) and Abigail Roberts, Kylie O’Rourke and Evan Logston (Community Service).   Silver Medalists recognized were Randal Guthrie, II (Auto Tool, II) and Galvin Malcomb (Tee Shirt Design).  Skills USA members at JDR IV Career Center are Health Occupations – Lydia Mascio, Serina Smith and Lauren Licause; Graphic Design – Evan Logston, Rylie O’Rourke, Charidy Ward, Abigail Roberts and Galvin Malcomb; Auto Tech – Andrew Lamb and Randall Guthrie, II; and Diesel Tech – Buck Franklin.

     Members of the Oak Glen Middle School Football and Wrestling teams were also honored as BMC Champs  

     Sixth graders at Hancock County Schools will now be able to begin participating in middle school interscholastic athletic teams beginning in July 2022.  The Board voted unanimously  to permit 6th graders to join sports teams.   It is anticipated that individual sports will be the first to include those age groups.

      Resident Jonathan Pratt returned to address the Board.  Pratt filed a Freedom of Information request to obtain financial information on the amount the Board spent in legal fees to Bowles-Rice and Dinsmore-Shohl law firms.  Pratt cited the State code that states the County Prosecutor’s office has responsibility for providing legal counsel to the Board in civil suits and questions why the Board is spending taxpayer money for outside law firms.  Pratt said he is filing two more FOIA requests to obtain further information.

In other business, the Board:

**Granted a leave of absence for Danielle Barley;

**Accepted the resignation of Linzy Campbell, Multi-Categorical/Autism, Weir Middle School;

**Approved Jessica Montana as a countywide substitute teacher;

**Approved unpaid days for Tonia Witherow, Charles D. Klar, Jill Swan and Joslyn Risk;

**Approved unpaid leave of absences for Amy L. McKitrick, S. Renee Barber and Alissa Altomare;

**Accepted the resignation of Melissa Dirling as Cook III, Weir High;

**Transferred Tiffany Givens from Cook III, Central Kitchen, to Cook III, Weir High;

**Approved the use of schools for polling locations for the May 10th Primary Election and November 8 General Election;

**Agreed to meet April 19, 2022 at 5 p.m. to approve the Levy Rate;

**Scheduled their next regular meeting for April 25, 2022 at 5 p.m.